5 months into motherhood

Jai is now just over 5 months and quite honestly I don’t know where the time has gone.  During those early newborn days it felt like each hour went by so slowly and the evenings always felt drawn out but I guess that’s what sleep deprivation does.  As days are getting longer and the weather is warming up, I find myself going out more and thankfully Jai loves it, we’ve had endless lunches, a trip to the zoo, a mini break, shopping sprees and numerous coffees together.  He’s starting to develop his own little personality and I absolutely love it, he’s a cheeky, smiley and active little boy and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Naturally, the thought of going back to work in 7 months fills me with dread, I haven’t managed to tear myself away from my little boy for more than a few hours let alone a whole day but I guess as he grows more independent I will learn to leave him in the care of family.  I have often read about how lonely maternity leave can be for new mums and thankfully I haven’t felt this so much but I have craved adult company which has left me chewing my husbands ear off as soon as he comes home from work.

My main learning over the past few months have been simple but important ones:

Nothing else matters 

I often use this as a hashtag when referring to Jai on social media but I truly believe in this.  There isn’t anything else that matters to me more than Jai being happy, I have learnt to walk away from a messy kitchen, cancel plans, leave my hair unwashed and stay in bed if it means Jai is smiling.  Over the past 5 months Jai’s had 2 sets of vaccinations, a cold, an ear infection and a temperature, he’s needed me more than ever and I’ve stopped being so hellbent on routine if it means he’s happier.

Get out the house 

Our house is currently being renovated so I am living with in laws, it’s crowded at the best of times so I make a conscious effort to get out of the house, get some fresh air and explore new places.  I truly believe that babies need to get out, they need to see and hear the outside world and feel fresh air.  Jai always sleeps much better in the day and night when he’s been out.

 Enjoy every minute

Admittedly, I struggled when Jai was first born.  I was completely overwhelmed by everything but as time went by, I’ve enjoyed every moment.  When he’s ill he pines for me and when he’s full of beans he’s so energetic it’s incredible.  It’s amazing what a change in attitude can do but even when I’m exhausted he manages to make me smile and it all quickly becomes worth it.

Chill Out

In the first few months after having Jai, I felt like I had to play with him every second and ensure he was developing properly.  I often felt guilty when I would watch TV and leave him playing on his gym or if I went on my phone while he was playing.  I quickly learnt that it’s okay to leave babies to play, they learn to become independent and actually enjoy exploring my themselves.  Similar to adults, babies can also get fed up of constant playing, they need their own time but obviously have to be supervised.

xoxo

One thought on “5 months into motherhood

  1. A very honest feeling for your little son. They say motherhood is the hardest job, and you won’t change it for anything.

Leave a Reply

